I recently wrote an article for the Virginia Journal of Education (April 2013).  I have copies in the classroom.  If you read the article, show it to your parents, and post a comment on this blog site, I will give you extra credit.
Dr. Denny
Kyra Johnson
4/18/2013 02:49:25 am

This is really deep. It comes from the heart. I learned about you and your teaching career. Without a doubt, I can say that you love what you do, and it's encouraging.

Megan Hendey
4/20/2013 12:27:03 am

I don't think anyone one truly understood where you came from until they actually read your article; which was great and inspiring!

Jamie Wengler
4/21/2013 11:53:56 am

After reading this article I realized that you are passionate about what you do. I also learned the steps you took to get to where you are and it is very inspiring.

Logan Howlett
4/22/2013 09:40:23 am

I have always been able to tell that you are very serious and passionate about your job. How? Well, first of all, you take the time to read and critique each one of our novels, this requires time, and a lot of it. You wouldn't have given us this project in the first place if you didn't want to read each and every one of our stories, this tells us that you care about us, and our education. I can name plenty of teachers in our school who are definitely not willing to give up their weekend for us, who aren't willing to give up an extra hour for us. This is because they don't care and aren't compassionate about what they do, they didn't receive the "calling" as you mentioned in your article. I have also noticed that you take your time when teaching our class. I have noticed that some other teachers rush through their teachings, and try to cram a thousand new things into our minds in just one day. They don't care, they just want to be able to say that they taught the material, and get it all over with. Lastly, I have noticed that in your class I have fun, you make learning fun! On B-days I know that I have something to look forward to at the end of the day! No one is going to learn anything if they don't have fun in the process, because they zone out. But, if a student is having fun while learning, they won't zone out and will be paying close attention. These three things are key if you want to have a student that has fun in your class, and is learning at the same time. Your article said that you must have a passion to teach, and that you have to receive a 'calling.' We can all tell that you are passionate about your job and are not teaching because of the pay, but because it is what you want to do. We are all very grateful to have you as our English teacher Dr. Denny!

Elaina Wilson
5/3/2013 01:11:39 am

Dr denny teachings not that great but you seem to like it i dont know why and we now that youve been alot of places

Josie Acevedo
5/4/2013 11:41:19 am

When I read your article, I finally understood how inspiring teaching is to you. That's wonderful how many things you've done through out your life.

Zaria Gordon
5/8/2013 08:30:40 am

I now understand what a true passionate and inspiring person you really are. This came straight from the heart. I've never been more proud to call you my teacher.

Ashley Garneau
5/9/2013 05:31:01 am

After reading this article I realized you were very passionate about your teaching. It's also cool how many things you actually done over the years, along with teaching. Your honestly one of my favorite teachers!

Morgan Gatchell
5/9/2013 09:07:51 am

Wow, my family and I were amazed at all the things you have accomplished, and the passion and motivation you have for everything you do. I enjoyed finding out more about you and what you have accomplished in your life. It really helps everyone understand you, and also shows how great of a teacher you are! You are definiteley one of my favorite teachers ever and I enjoy your class very much, with you pushing us to do our best and also having us write those novels, truly increased my writing skills, and my imagination also. Im so glad to have you as my teacher!

Hallie Gordon
5/10/2013 03:46:25 am

Wow! I never knew how passionate of a person and a teacher you really are. But after I read this I now know! We love you Dr. D! I'm proud to call you my teacher :)

Daniel Galloway #YoloSwag$
5/13/2013 12:25:11 am

I realize that u are very passionate about your teaching career you have done a lot of cool things over the years and you are definitely one of my favorite teachers and I nod realize how passionate you are about your teaching.

Joey Kelly #PTeazy
5/13/2013 12:29:42 am

Well I thought that the Article was a very touchy one. And that dr.denny was sharing times of his life with the world. And telling about all the times and jobs he had through out his life. I think that he should write many more

Danielle Robinson
5/13/2013 12:35:35 am

Before reading your article I didn't really think much of teachers at all. But after I read it I realized that some teachers actually care and are interested in helping us with our lives and especially our education.

Michael Gutierrez
5/13/2013 12:35:38 am

I think it has a real message to the kids that want to learn about their main language and what it means to be a teacher and the patience you need to become And stay as one for a career


Comments are closed.